top of page

Women's section celebrate five years of success at awards night

Updated: Nov 9, 2023

Members and friends of Sefon Park Cricket Club Women gathered at Croxteth Drive recently to celebrate the women's section fifth anniversary.

The function room was packed, with standing room only, as guests heard how the section was started in October 2018 by Mark Boyns and Sara Begg, with just two members attending the first ever training session.

Since then the women's section has grown dramatically to its current level of 40 members, winning nine LDCC trophies along the way and most importantly creating a growing 'family' of women connected by cricket.

The future of the women's section is also bright with the huge growth of the girl's section with many committed and talented junior cricketers now on the pathway within the club. Paul Foulder, Sefton Park Cricket Club President, stated how delighted he was to see the growth of the women's section over the years, stating this was a key reason that the cricket club was able to survive and thrive.

Party guests watched a video montage of key moments in their five year history before the cutting of the cake by Frankie Morris.

There were further celebrations with the winners announced at the women's section's annual awards.

Volunteer of the Year Emma Arnold (inaugural winner) Hardball Pairs Established team - presented by captain Frankie Morris Batter of the Year - Emma Watson

Fielder / Bowler of the Year - Caitlin Summers

Players’ Player of the Year- Rachel Farmer

Hardball Pairs Development team - presented by captain Lauren Rutland Batter of the Year -Tina Jones Bowler of the Year -Lasi HAP

Most improved Player -Katie Johnson

Players’ Player of the Year - Ciara O'Connor

T20/40 over team - presented by captain Sarah John Batter of the Year - Sarah Jackson Bowler of the Year - Lorna Harper Most Improved Player - Amani Ris

Softball pairs team - presented by captain Liz Killick

Batter of the Year - Tina Jones Bowler of the Year - Priyanka Hariharan Most Improved Player - Jayne Tapp

Players’ Player of the Year- Liz Killick

Players’ Player of the Year - Eleanor Cantwell

245 views0 comments


bottom of page