top of page

Saturday, May 20 - First XI defeat Alder in Ray Tyler Cup

Updated: May 22, 2023

First XI

Sefton Park 242 for 7 (45 overs)

C Bellis 71, K Patel 50, P Horton 57

Alder 73 all out (23.1 overs)

J Dixon 4 for 20, A Jagan 3 for 13, Dan Kelly 2 for 17

Sefton Park won by 169 runs

Third XI

Sefton Park 183 for 7 dec.

P Sukla 56, P Morris 47

Ormskirk 124 all out

J Hale 4 for 26, J Gillow 3 for 34

Fourth XI

Birkenhead Park 151 for 9 dec.

N Ahmad 2 for 25, B Gartside 2 for 20, I Dawes 2 for 22

Sefton Park 152 for 4

H Wright 52, R Kennedy 36

Sefton Park won by 6 wickets

Having got through the preliminary round of the Ray Tyler Cup after Irby conceded, The First XI welcomed Alder to Sefton Park. Alder won the toss and decided to field.

Sefton soon got into their stride as openers Ben Percival (out for 18) and Chris Bellis put on 34 for the first wicket, followed by a stand of 107 between Chris Bellis (71) and Kaash Patel who was out for 50 with the score on 158 for 3. Skipper Paul Horton scored 57 in 45 balls as Sefton reached 242 for 7 in their 45 overs.

Wickets soon began to fall in the Alder reply and they were dismissed for 73 in the 24th over. Jimmy Dixon took 4 for 20, Abhishek Jagan 3 for 13 and Daniel Kelly 2 for 17.

Sefton now play Wavertree in the next round who defeated Liverpool by 30 runs

(above) Ben Percival scored 18 in the first XI cup win over Alder

Chris Bellis scored 71

Kaash Patel scored 50

Third XI was back on the Lower Ground as Ormskirk Thirds played Sefton's Thirds

Sefton batted first and after losing early wickets quickly Prajesh Sukla (56) and Paul Morris (47) enabled them to declare on 183 for 7

Jack Hale took 4 for 26 and John Gillow 3 for 34 to dismiss Ormskirk for 124 in their 32nd over

More good news from the Fourth XI who travelled to play Birkenhead Park's Fourths

Birkenhead Park batted first and declared on 151 for 9 with two wickets apiece from Naj Ahmad, Ian Dawes and Billy Gartside.

Harry Wight (52) and Rob Kennedy (36) were Sefton's top scorers as they passed the Birkenhead total for the loss of 4 wickets.

162 views0 comments


bottom of page